Lighthouse weekend prep weekend

Started with a bit of brainstorming this morning working out all the bits and bobs needed for the weekend, followed by a trip to Jaycar to collect needed parts. Only downside was that they did not have the coax I was looking for. However in there ever helpful mode they have said they will get it for me by tomorrow. So tomorrow morning early I will head off and grab some.

So today I have managed to get the FT-817 connected to the TNC and linbpq running on my laptop as MHLH.

I have also managed to get the logging software on the PC to connect via linbpq to the dx cluster on PUKKIE.

I have modified the NOMIC digi board to use the data port rather than the mic port on the FT-875. A quick test found that it put the TX into transmit mode as soon as the tx was turned on. Quickly found that a sharp bit of solder had puntured the insulation and was shorting GND to PTT duh.. Fixed and that seemed to work. Full test tomorrow in daylight.

On the list tomorrow prepare all the antenna coax, test the digital modes and then test the full configuration.

Also on the list to do is service the generator. Should all be doable I hope as next week I am on call again so not much time if I don’t get it all completed by then.

Anyway time for bed early start tomorrow for me.

Leave a comment